Child Booster Seats and Safety Seats
Child Safety Seats
Properly secure all children riding in your car before every trip.
Thousands of children are injured or killed every year by safety seats that are improperly fastened by parents or
caretakers. Remember, most collisions occur within a mile of the home - so buckle your child in a safety seat
for every trip, no matter how short.
If you're not confident of how to properly secure your child in a safety seat, contact your local CHP Area Office,
and set up an appointment for a lesson. Find your local Area Office anywhere
in California on this page. Click the Division you're in, then click the "Area Offices" link - the address
and phone number for every CHP Area Office in your Division will display.
California Law (Effective 01/01/2012):
Children under the age of 8 must be secured in a car seat or booster seat in the back seat.
Children under the age of 8 who are 4' 9" or taller may be secured by a safety belt in the back seat.
Children who are 8 years and over shall be properly secured in an appropriate child passenger restraint
system or safety belt.
Passengers who are 16 years of age and over are subject to California's Mandatory Seat Belt law.
Buckling up is the single most effective thing you can do to protect yourself in a crash. Also, seat
belts are the best defense against impaired, aggressive, and distracted drivers.
Useful Links Related to Child Passenger Safety
Safety Seat Placards
Return to Community Homepage