Did you know that over 40% of car seats for children are used incorrectly? And that
nearly 60% of adults are unaware of the laws governing the use of car seats for children?
The purpose of the California Highway Patrol (CHP) Castro Valley's Child Passenger Safety (CPS) program is to assist with the efforts of reducing the mileage death rate among children, by providing traffic safety presentations and check-up events in Alameda County to the public on CPS issues.
In order to accomplish this goal, the CHP Castro Valley office implemented a Child Safety Seat Fitting Station, provides traffic safety presentations and child safety check-up events to better serve the public on CPS issues.
Are you using your car seat correctly?
If you're not sure consider a Fitting Station, Fitting Stations are available to the public to come for information, resources, instruction, and assistance in obtaining and installing a Child Passenger Restraint Seat (CPRS). A certified CPS technician will provide instruction, guidance, and a hands-on demonstration on proper infant/child placement in a CPRS or seat belt as well as correct installation in a motor vehicle. Upon completion of the demonstration, the parent/guardian/caregiver shall install the CPRS in the vehicle, place the child in the CPRS, and ensure the child is properly restrained prior to leaving the San Jose Area office. The only exception would be if the parent/guardian/caregiver is physically incapable of performing the installation due to a disability (i.e. arthritis, missing limb, or final stages of pregnancy, etc.). Fitting stations and child safety seat check-up events have proven to be an effective way to decrease the high rate of misuse of CPRS among those that transport children in vehicles.
Our goal is to educate children and caregivers to make buckling up a habit for life. Please contact us by telephone, (510) 581-9028, or email to schedule an appointment.
Children under the age of 8 must be secured in a car seat or booster seat in the back seat.
Children under the age of 8 who are 4' 9" or taller may be secured by a safety belt in the back seat.
Children who are 8 years and over shall be properly secured in an appropriate child passenger restraint system or safety belt.
Passengers who are 16 years of age and over are subject to California's Mandatory Seat Belt law.
Buckling up is the single most effective thing you can do to protect yourself in a crash. Also, seat belts are the best defense against impaired, aggressive, and distracted drivers.