LICENSE RENEWAL NOTICE - HAZARDOUS MATERIALS TRANSPORTATION LICENSE

CHP 361G (Rev. 04-13) OPI 062

In Approximately 60 Days your Hazardous Materials Transportation License Will Expire

To continue your authority to transport hazardous materials, you must renew your license in accordance with the following instructions. You will not receive any additional reminders to renew your license and there is **no grace period**. The licensed activity must cease immediately upon expiration of the license.

Transportation of hazardous materials without a valid license.

Transportation of hazardous materials without a valid license is a misdemeanor, pursuant to Section 32000.5 of the California Vehicle Code (CVC) and is punishable by a fine of not less than \$2,000.00.

Renewal Application Procedures

Completed all applicable entries on the CHP 361R, Application Renewal for Hazardous Materials Transportation License form. Print legibly or complete the form(s) online. Make a copy for your file. The completed **signed** application and \$75.00 renewal fee must be received by the California Highway Patrol (CHP) *prior* to the expiration of the current license to avoid an additional \$25.00 late fee. To ensure adequate time for processing, renewal applications should be submitted four weeks prior to the expiration of your current license. The completed application and renewal fee should be mailed to:

California Highway Patrol ATTN: HAZARDOUS MATERIALS LICENSING P. O. Box 942898 Sacramento, CA 94298-0001

DO NOT SEND CASH OR COMBINE WITH ANY OTHER APPLICATION OR FEE

APPLICATION LINE ITEM INSTRUCTIONS

Confirm the information on preprinted application, line out all incorrect information and fill in current information.

REASON FOR APPLICATION: Check the appropriate box corresponding to the reason for submitting the application.

COMPANY/APPLICANT NAME: Company name. This name must be the same as the name listed for your California Carrier Identification Number (CA Number).

FEDERAL EMPLOYER I.D. NUMBER (EIN): Enter your federal EIN assigned by the Internal Revenue Service. This unique number ensures your records are not duplicated. Individuals with no employees may not have this number, in that case no entry is required. **Do not** use a Social Security number.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (SSN): This information must be provided for individuals.

OWNERSHIP INFORMATION: Check the appropriate box corresponding to the ownership type of the applicant. If the applicant is an individual with no federal EIN, a valid driver license number and the state of issue are required. All requested information is necessary to prevent duplication of records.

NAME CHANGE: If your company name changed, but there was not change of ownership or control, enter the new name.

TELEPHONE NUMBER: Verify the applicant's telephone number.

DOING BUSINESS AS: List additional registered, legal names not previously reported, other than the applicant's name.

MAIL LICENSE ATTENTION: If the license is to be mailed to a specific company individual enter that person's name, otherwise leave blank.

MAIN OFFICE STREET ADDRESS, CITY, STATE, and ZIP CODE: Verify the complete address for the company headquarters.

MAILING ADDRESS, CITY, STATE, and ZIP CODE: Enter the complete mailing address where the license is to be sent .

CALIFORNIA CARRIER IDENTIFICATION NUMBER: Make corrections to the preprinted number if necessary.

CHP HAZARDOUS MATERIALS TRANSPORTATION LICENSE NUMBER and EXPIRATION DATE: Enter current CHP license number and expiration date.

FEDERAL OPERATING AUTHORITY NUMBER: Circle MC or MX and enter authority number if applicable.

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION NUMBER (US DOT): Enter federal US DOT number if applicable.

CALIFORNIA CORPORATION NUMBER: Enter the corporation's identification number if applicable.

PIPELINE AND HAZADOUS MATERIALS SAFETY ADMINISTRATION (PHMSA): Enter PHMSA registration number and expiration date if the company is now required to obtain one.

FEDERAL MOTOR CARRIER SAFETY ADMINISTRATION (FMCSA) HAZARDOUS MATERIALS SAFETY PERMIT (HMSP): Enter FMCSA HMSP number and expiration date if applicable.

SPECIALIZED HIGHWAY ROUTING REQUIREMENT INFORMATION: Verify the appropriate boxes that correspond to your type of operation are checked.

APPLICANT BACKGROUND: Provide an explanation in the space below for each response marked "yes". Attach an additional sheet if necessary.

AUTHORIZED CERTIFIER'S SIGNATURE: Authorized corporate officer or authorized representative of the company must certify the application and print or type their name, title, and date.

Temporary License

Applicants who have submitted a renewal applications and the appropriate license fee <u>prior</u> to the expiration of the old license, will not need a temporary license as their authority will carry over to the new license term.

(Continued on reverse)

Late/Incomplete Application Forms or Insufficient Funds

Your completed renewal application form with the correct fee **must be received prior to the license expiration** date. Pursuant to Section 2501 CVC, renewals received after the license expiration date or incomplete applications not corrected prior to the license expiration date, must be accompanied by \$100.00. If the license has not been renewed within 30 days after the expiration date, the license cannot be renewed; rather the applicant must comply with the requirements for obtaining an initial license.

CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP OR CONTROL

Licenses are non-transferable. A majority change in ownership or control of a licensed activity requires a **new license**. A change in ownership or control includes, but is not limited to, a change in corporate status, or a stock transfer of shares possessing more than 50 percent of the voting power of the corporation. A change in ownership or control does not include the addition or deletion of partners, officers, directors, or board members comprising 50 percent or less ownership or control of the licensed activity if both of the following are complied with:

- (1) The new partners, officers, directors, or board members have not committed any acts that would disqualify them from obtaining a license as described in Section 2541 CVC.
- (2) An amended license application form indicating the changes is submitted within 10 days of the change. Applications for a new (initial) license must also be accompanied by a completed CHP 362, Motor Carrier Profile form.

STATUTORY REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSE

A valid Hazardous Materials Transportation License is required per the laws and regulations of the State of California, Section 32000.5 CVC for the transportation of either:

- 1) Hazardous materials shipments for which the display of placards is required; or
- 2) Hazardous materials shipments of more than 500 pounds (being transported for a fee), which would require placards if shipped in greater amounts in the same manner.

General regulations regarding the transportation of hazardous materials is governed by Sections 31300-34510 CVC (Divisions 13 through 14.8). A copy of the CVC may be purchased at any California Department of Motor Vehicles office.

SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS

Laws and regulations governing the transportation of **explosives**, **inhalation hazards and radioactive materials** are more restrictive than those concerning the transportation of hazardous materials in general. The specific requirements for transportation of these materials are identified below.

EXPLOSIVES

Shipments of explosive materials that meet the definitions outlined in Division 14 of the CVC must follow additional rules and regulations for routing, safe stopping places and inspection stops designated by the CHP in Title 13, California Code of Regulations (CCR), Chapter 6, Article 1 (Sections 1150-1152.10). These additional requirements are effective if transporting:

 an amount in excess of 1,000 pounds of any class 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 (formerly class A or B) explosives,

or

 a combined load in excess of 1,000 pounds of any class 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 (formerly class A or B) explosives and blasting agent,

or

• any amount of class 1.1, 1.2, or 1.3 (formerly class A or B) when the transportation is rendered as a delivery service or for hire.

NOTE: These regulations do not include special fireworks transported by carriers licensed by the State Fire Marshal or any other class of explosives.

INHALATION HAZARDS

Shipments of inhalation hazards that meet the definitions outlined in Division 14.3 of the CVC must follow additional rules and regulations for routing, safe stopping places and inspection stops designated by the CHP in Title 13, CCR, Chapter 6, Article 2.5 (Sections 1157-1157.18). These additional requirements are effective if:

- it is a material meeting the defining criteria in Section 173.115 (c) of Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) or for which a "Poison-Inhalation Hazard" or "Inhalation Hazard" shipping paper description is required pursuant to Section 172.203 of Title 49 CFR, <u>AND</u>;
- it is being transported in bulk packaging except when that packaging contains only residue.

This would include, but not necessarily be limited to, hazardous materials that are poisonous by inhalation (liquid or gaseous) in Hazard Zones A, B, C, or D.

RADIOACTIVE MATERIALS

Shipments of radioactive materials meeting the definition for **highway route controlled quantity** found in Section 174.403, Title 49 CFR, must follow the routes designated by the CHP in Title 13, CCR, Chapter 6, Article 2.7 (Sections 1158-1159).

SPECIALIZED HIGHWAY ROUTING AND ASSOCIATED REQUIREMENTS INFORMATION

Applicants who check one, or more, of the specialized routing ("HMX," "HMPIH," "HRCQ") boxes will be placed on the appropriate mailing list(s) to receive special highway routing requirements. Those on the HMX and HMPIH mailing lists will also receive safe stopping place and in route inspection stop information. Applicants not already on a particular list will receive a free initial copy of the appropriate designated routes and related requirements. Applicants currently on one, or more, of these mailing lists will continue to receive published revisions to the designated routes and related requirements. This information may be reproduced locally, or additional copies may be purchased from the California Highway Patrol. Questions concerning the specialized highway routing requirements or how to obtain additional copies of these requirements should be directed to the Commercial Vehicle Section, Routing Coordinator at (916) 843-3400.

QUESTIONS/ADDITIONAL FORMS

If you have any questions regarding your renewal, contact the CHP, Commercial Vehicle Section, P.O. Box 942898, Sacramento, CA 94298-0001 or by telephone at (916) 843-3400.