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DO NOT GIVE UP UNTIL EVERYONE BUCKLES UP 

 
SACRAMENTO, Calif. –  The California Highway Patrol (CHP) will observe National Child 

Passenger Safety Week from September 13-19, 2015, by conducting child safety seat events 

throughout the state. 

During Child Passenger Safety Week, CHP Child Passenger Safety (CPS) technicians will be 

available at each event to provide education on how to use car seats, booster seats, and seat belts 

for children.  Technicians can also help educate consumers about choosing the right car seat for 

their child, the importance of registering car seats with the manufacturer, and what to expect if 

the seat is subject to a safety recall.  The week concludes with National Seat Check taking place 

on Saturday, September 19, when CPS technicians across the state will be available at car seat 

events to offer advice and instruction to parents and caregivers. 

“When installed and used correctly, child safety seats and safety belts can prevent injuries and 

save lives,” said CHP Commissioner Joe Farrow.  “Buckling up is the single most effective thing 

you can do to protect yourself and your child in the event of a collision.” 

Buckling children in age-appropriate and size-appropriate car seats, booster seats, and seat belts 

reduces the risk of serious and fatal injuries by as much as 71 percent in infants, 54 percent in 

toddlers, and 54 percent in children four to eight years old.  For older children and adults, seat 

belt use reduces the risk for death and serious injury by approximately half. 

California’s child passenger safety seat law, which went into effect January 1, 2012, requires 

children to ride in the back seat of a vehicle, in either a car seat or booster seat, until the age of 

eight, or until they are 4 feet 9 inches in height. 

Parents are encouraged to contact their local CHP Area office to make an appointment with a 

certified child safety seat technician for a free car seat inspection or to request information on 

any child passenger safety events taking place in your area.  
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