Josh Ehlers, Commander Office of Community Outreach & Media Relations 601 North 7th Street, Sacramento, CA 95811
Fran CladerDirector of Communications(916) 843-3310
SACRAMENTO, Calif. – When the California Motorcyclist Safety Program (CMSP) celebrates its 30th anniversary in July, it will have educated well over one million California motorcyclists.
By law, the California Highway Patrol (CHP) is responsible for the state's official motorcycle safety training program. The first course was offered July 1, 1987, in Sacramento. The course is now offered at more than 100 sites around California and is available almost every weekend.
“Thirty years of safety training for more than one million riders – these are milestones in which the CHP takes great pride,” CHP Commissioner Joe Farrow said. “California is the leader in promoting motorcycle safety in the nation.”
The Motorcyclist Training Course (MTC) is a 15-hour class, which includes five hours of classroom instruction and 10 hours of actual riding. The MTC is mandatory for those under the age of 21, but is also recommended for those 21 and older who are seeking to obtain a motorcycle endorsement on their California driver license.
Motorcyclist deaths occurred 27 times more frequently than fatalities in other vehicles, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reported, based on 2014 data. Driving a car and riding a motorcycle require different skills and knowledge. Training can help bridge the gap between a novice and an experienced rider as well as improve their skills.
The CMSP also offers the Premier Program, an extended MTC including more classroom time and more riding hours. The CHP and its partners encourage all riders to be life-long learners and seek additional training beyond the MTC and Premier programs.
The mission of the CHP is to provide the highest level of Safety, Service, and Security.
# # #