Frequently Asked Questions

 

 

Are pickup trucks required to stop at CHP weigh stations?Are pickup trucks required to stop at CHP weigh stations?<p>​​Section 2813 of the California Vehicle Code (CVC) requires every driver of a commercial vehicle to stop and submit the vehicle for an inspection at any location where members of the CHP are conducting inspections and where signs are displayed requiring them to stop. Pickup trucks are included in this requirement, unless a sign specifically states “no pickups.”</p><p>Section 471 CVC defines a pickup truck as a motor truck with a manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight rating of less than 11,500 pounds, an unladen weight of less than 8,001 pounds, and that is equipped with an open box-type bed not exceeding 9 feet in length. A “pickup truck” does not include a motor vehicle—otherwise meeting the above definition—that is equipped with a bed-mounted storage compartment unit commonly called a “utility body.”</p>
Does my semitrailer need side skirts?Does my semitrailer need side skirts?<p>​Trailer side skirts and other aerodynamic devices are a greenhouse gas emission requirement regulated by the <a href="https://www.arb.ca.gov/msprog/truckstop/trailers/trailers.htm">California Air Resources Board</a> (CARB). Information is available on the CARB tractor-trailer greenhouse gas web page. You can also call (866) 634-3735 for more information.</p>
How do I obtain a California vehicle registration trip permit?How do I obtain a California vehicle registration trip permit?<p>​There are several sources for obtaining registration trip permits. Trip permit information is available on the <a href="http://www.dot.ca.gov/trafficops/trucks/truck-reg.html">California Department of Transportation Legal Truck Access</a> web page. </p>
How do I request a correction on a commercial vehicle inspection conducted by the CHP?How do I request a correction on a commercial vehicle inspection conducted by the CHP?<p>​Corrections to inspections must be requested by using the DataQs process. The DataQs process is administered by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) and must be submitted through the <a href="https://dataqs.fmcsa.dot.gov/">FMCSA DataQs</a> web page.</p>
I have a truck tractor equipped with an engine manufactured prior to 2007. Do I need a permit to enter California with my older truck tractor?I have a truck tractor equipped with an engine manufactured prior to 2007. Do I need a permit to enter California with my older truck tractor?<p>​Emissions standards are regulated by the California Air Resources Board (CARB). Information is available on the the <a href="http://www.arb.ca.gov/msprog/truckstop/truckstop.htm">CARB Diesel Truck Information</a> web page. You can also call (866) 634-3735 for more information .</p>
I need a police clearance letter. Where can I get one? I need a police clearance letter. Where can I get one? <p>​These letters are available from the California Department of Justice (DOJ). You may call the DOJ directly at (916) 227-3832 or (916) 445-9555, or you may write to:</p><blockquote dir="ltr" style="margin-right:0px;"><p> California Department of Justice <br> P. O. Box 944255 <br> Sacramento, CA 94244-2550 </p></blockquote>
Is it illegal to use my mobile phone while I'm driving? Is it illegal to use my mobile phone while I'm driving? <p>​California law does not prohibit the use of a hands-free wireless phone while operating a vehicle if you're 18 years of age or over. However, the CHP recommends common sense in its use and we urge users to familiarize themselves with their cell phone features and follow these tips: </p><ul><li><p>If possible, dial while the car is not in motion, such as at a traffic light or stop sign. </p></li><li><p>Learn to operate the phone without looking at it. </p></li><li><p>Never allow a phone conversation to distract you from driving. </p></li><li><p>Keep calls brief. </p></li><li><p>While talking, keep your head up and your eyes on the road, with frequent checks of side and rearview mirrors. </p></li><li><p>Don't take notes or look up phone numbers while driving. </p></li><li><p>If you must check information, arrange to call back and do your research while the car is safely stopped.  </p></li></ul>
What is CALEA?What is CALEA?<p>​The Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies (CALEA) was created in 1979 as a credentialing authority through the joint efforts of major law enforcement executive associations throughout the country. The primary purpose of CALEA is to improve the delivery of public safety services by maintaining a comprehensive body of law enforcement standards, establishing and administering an accreditation process, and recognizing professional excellence. </p>
What is a Blue Alert?What is a Blue Alert?<p>​The purpose of the Blue Alert Program is to establish a quick response system designed to issue and coordinate alerts following a violent attack upon a law enforcement officer. The goal of a Blue Alert is to provide immediate information to the public about violent suspects via media broadcasts, and other notification resources to solicit help from the public in the safe and swift apprehension of the suspect. </p>
What is an AMBER Alert?What is an AMBER Alert?<p>​An AMBER Alert is declared if it has been confirmed that a child abduction has occurred, there is reason to believe the victim is in imminent danger of serious bodily injury or death, and there is information available that, if disseminated to the general public, could assist in the safe recovery of the victim. <a href="/_layouts/15/FIXUPREDIRECT.ASPX?WebId=76bdb9c2-3652-4bd5-b330-1eb3d8127efd&TermSetId=60be2733-c40e-4f75-96cc-b67d4d71e190&TermId=6108fe87-3db4-499a-ad1c-c8708eee2c4e"> Learn more about the California AMBER Alert plan</a>.</p>
What should I do if I see an AMBER Alert vehicle? What should I do if I see an AMBER Alert vehicle? <p>​​If you see a vehicle involved in an AMBER Alert, note your location, the vehicle's direction of travel, and call 911 immediately.</p>
Where can I obtain commercial driver's license information?Where can I obtain commercial driver's license information?<p>​Driver's licenses are issued by the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Please visit the <a href="https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/detail/commercial/commercial">DMV Commercial Driver License Information</a> web page for more information.</p>
Where can I obtain current road condition information?Where can I obtain current road condition information?<p>​The California Department of Transportation (Caltrans) road condition telephone hotline is (800) 427-ROAD (7623). Please visit the <a href="http://www.dot.ca.gov/cgi-bin/roads.cgi">Caltrans Highway Conditions Information</a> web page for more information.</p>
Where can I obtain information about commercial vehicle size limitations?Where can I obtain information about commercial vehicle size limitations?<p>​Size limitations for vehicles operating on public roads are outlined in the <a href="http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayexpandedbranch.xhtml?tocCode=VEH&division=15.&title=&part=&chapter=&article=">California Vehicle Code</a>. The California Department of Transportation is responsible for the issuance of permits for extralegal loads. Permit information is available on the <a href="http://www.dot.ca.gov/hq/traffops/trucks/">Caltrans Legal Truck Access</a> web page.</p>
Where can I obtain information about the transportation of hazardous waste?Where can I obtain information about the transportation of hazardous waste?<p>​Hazardous waste is regulated by the California Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC). Information is available on the <a href="http://www.dtsc.ca.gov/HazardousWaste/Transporters.cfm">DTSC Hazardous Waste </a>web page.</p>
Where can I obtain information about the transportation of inedible kitchen grease?Where can I obtain information about the transportation of inedible kitchen grease?<p>​Inedible kitchen grease (IKG) is regulated by California Department of Food and Agriculture (CDFA). Information is available on the <a href="https://www.cdfa.ca.gov/ahfss/mpes/ikg_program.html">CDFA Inedible Kitchen Grease Program</a> web page.</p>
Where can I obtain information about the transportation of regulated medical waste?Where can I obtain information about the transportation of regulated medical waste?<p>​Medical waste is regulated by the California Department of Public Health (CDPH). Information is available on the <a href="https://www.cdph.ca.gov/certlic/medicalwaste/Pages/Transporters.aspx">CDPH Medical Waste Transporters</a> web page.</p>
Where can I obtain information about vehicle registration?Where can I obtain information about vehicle registration?<p>​​Vehicle registration is issued by the the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Please visit the <a href="https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/detail/vr/vr">DMV Vehicle Registration</a> web page for more information.</p>
Where can I obtain information on the use of tire chains? Where can I obtain information on the use of tire chains? <p>​The California Department of Transportation has several web pages which provide information on the use of tire chains and traction devices: </p><ul><li><p><a href="http://www.dot.ca.gov/hq/roadinfo/chcontrl.htm">Winter Driving Tips - Chain Controls</a></p></li><li><p><a href="http://www.dot.ca.gov/trafficops/trucks/chains.html">Commercial Vehicle Operations - Chains</a></p></li><li><p><a href="http://www.dot.ca.gov/dist3/departments/mtce/graphics/ChainChart.pdf">Caltrans Chain Chart</a></p></li></ul>
Which model year trucks comply with California emissions regulations?Which model year trucks comply with California emissions regulations?<p>​Emissions standards are regulated by the California Air Resources Board (CARB). Information is available on the the <a href="http://www.arb.ca.gov/msprog/truckstop/truckstop.htm">CARB Diesel Truck Information</a> web page. You can also call (866) 634-3735 for more information.</p>

 

Supporting Page