# **REGULATED SPECIAL PURPOSE VEHICLES**

Regulated Special Purpose Vehicles (RSPV) include: Privately owned emergency ambulances Privately owned armored vehicles Authorized Emergency Vehicles (AEV)

# PRIVATELY OWNED EMERGENCY AMBULANCES

Privately owned emergency ambulances may respond to emergency calls only after being licensed by the California Highway Patrol (CHP). Ambulances are inspected and certified annually by a Regulated Special Purpose Vehicle Officer (RSPVO) available at local CHP offices. Following the RSPVOs inspection and certification, the CHP will renew the license for the following year.

## QUALIFYING CRITERIA:

- The ambulance company must be registered with the California Secretary of State.
- All company principals and those involved in day-to-day operations (managers, directors, etc.) must be fingerprinted with satisfactory results.
- Vehicle registration through the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) must show the "body type model" (BTM) as "AM" for ambulance.
- A Pull Notice Requestor Code must be obtained from the DMV.
- An initial fee of \$200.00 (annual renewal fee of \$150.00) plus appropriate fingerprint fees must accompany the application when presented to the RSPVO at the time of inspection of vehicles.
- After the paperwork has been processed at CHP Headquarters, all necessary licenses and certificates will be issued.
- Any questions should be directed to the RSPVO at your local CHP office or the program coordinator at CHP Headquarters in Research and Planning Section (RPS) at (916) 843-3340.



# PRIVATELY OWNED ARMORED VEHICLES

Privately owned armored vehicles may operate on California highways only after obtaining a license from the CHP. Company licenses are renewed annually.

### WHO MAY APPLY?

In order to be eligible for an armored car license, applicants must qualify as one of the following:

- Persons or firms regularly hired to transport money or other valuables that require special security.
- Financial institutions.
- Armored car dealers or manufacturers.
- Collectors of vehicles of historic value or special interest and originally designed, manufactured, or equipped as armored cars.
- Other persons or entities that can show legitimate need.

#### QUALIFYING CRITERIA:

- The armored car company must be registered with the California Secretary of State.
- All company principals and those involved in day-to-day operations (managers, directors, etc.) must be fingerprinted with sa



- directors, etc.) must be fingerprinted with satisfactory results.
- Vehicle registration through the DMV must show the BTM as "AR" for armored car.
- An initial fee of \$10.00 (annual renewal fee of \$5.00) plus appropriate fingerprint fees must accompany the application when presented to the RSPVO at the time of inspection of vehicles.
- After the paperwork has been processed at CHP Headquarters, all necessary licenses and certificates will be issued.
- Any questions should be directed to the RSPVO at your local CHP office or the program coordinator at CHP Headquarters in RPS at (916) 843-3340.

### AUTHORIZED EMERGENCY VEHICLES

QUALIFYING VEHICLES:

• Only those vehicles listed in Section 2416 of the California Vehicle Code.

Authorized Emergency Vehicle permits are only issued to qualifying vehicles which are used in:



- Response to emergency calls for fire or law enforcement.
- The immediate preservation of life or property.
- The apprehension of law violators.

#### WHAT IS THE PROCESS?

- Contact the RSPV program coordinator at (916) 843-3340 in order to obtain all necessary paperwork.
- The initial application and inspection of an AEV is completed by the Area RSPVO.
- Every two years, the renewal and inspection is completed by the company and sent directly to the RSPV program coordinator in RPS.

Any questions concerning RSPVs should be directed to the RSPV program coordinator in RPS at (916) 843-3340.