
NEW CARRIER GUIDANCE FOR INTRASTATE PROPERTY CARRYING MOTOR 
CARRIERS 

 
Step 1:  Obtain a United States Department of Transportation (USDOT) number issued 
by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA).  The online application 
can be found at this website: 
 
https://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/registration/getting-started 
 
The FMCSA regulates interstate commerce.  When using the website to determine if a 
USDOT number is required, it may indicate a USDOT number is not required for 
intrastate commerce unless you are transporting hazardous materials in a quantity 
requiring the display of placards.  Even though you may not be engaged in interstate 

commerce, or transporting hazardous materials, you are required by Section 
34507.5(a)(1) of the California Vehicle Code (CVC) to obtain a USDOT number before 
obtaining a California identification number (CA number). 
 
Step 2:  Obtain a CA number. Submit a CHP 362, Motor Carrier Profile, to a local CHP 
Motor Carrier Safety Unit located on page 3 of the application.  Be sure to include your 
USDOT number on the application, as a CA number cannot be issued without this 
information.  The CHP 362, Motor Carrier Profile, can be found at this website: 
 
https://www.chp.ca.gov/Programs-Services/Programs/Commercial-Vehicle-Section 
 
Step 3:  Obtain a Motor Carrier of Property Permit (MCPP) using the CA number issued 
by the CHP.  Submit a DMV MC 706 M, Application for Motor Carrier Permit, to the 
Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), Motor Carrier Permit Operations Unit.  The 
requirements for the MCPP are explained on the application.  The DMV MC 706 M and 
other information can be found at this website: 
 
www.dmv.ca.gov/ 
 
The MCPP application may be found by typing “MC 706 M” into the search field on the 
website. 
 
***NOTE*** Local DMV offices are not able to process information relating to MCPP. 

The California DMV, Motor Carrier Permit Operations Unit, processes applications for 

MCPP.  Their contact number is (916) 657-8153. 

 

 

 

 

 

 



OTHER REQUIREMENTS 

 

You are required to perform 90-day preventative maintenance on your vehicles and 

document this maintenance per Section 34505.5 CVC.  The CHP provides a form, CHP 

108, Truck and/or Tractor Maintenance & Safety Inspection, you may use to document 

your maintenance.  The CHP 108 can be found at this website.   

 

https://www.chp.ca.gov/Programs-Services/Programs/Commercial-Vehicle-Section 

 

Drivers of regulated vehicles are subject to hours-of-service (HOS) requirements.  One 

requirement of the HOS requirements is to document the driver’s activity in a logbook.  

The logbook must contain the true and accurate activities of the driver, must be in the 

driver’s possession while in the regulated vehicle, and current to last duty status 

change. 

 

Exception to Logbook Requirement 

 

Time records may be used as an exception to the logbook requirement, if the motor 

carrier and driver are in compliance with all of the following conditions: 

1. Keep true and accurate time records.  The following information is required for 

the time record, date, start time, end time, and hours worked.  The time record 

must be maintained for a 6 month period, and 

2. Stay within 100 air mile radius of normal work reporting location, and  

3. Start and return and be released from duty within 12 consecutive hours, and 

4. 10 hour rest period between each 12 hours on duty. 

 

HOS reference Sections 1212, 1212.5 & 1213 of Title 13 of the California Code of 

Regulations can be found at this website. 

 

https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Browse/Home/California/CaliforniaCodeofRegulations

?guid=I508F0B60D46911DE8879F88E8B0DAAAE&originationContext=documenttoc&tr

ansitionType=Default&contextData=(sc.Default) 

 


