
Texting while Driving
will cost you.

First citation, minimum $162.
Driving while using the cell phone is a violation 
of Califonia Vehicle Code (VC):
 • 23123 (a) VC - Driving while talking on   
    cell phone, non-hands free device (over 18)
 • 23123.5 (a) VC - Texting while driving
 • 23124 (b) VC - Driving while talking on 
  cell phone (under 18)

California has primary laws prohibiting  
ALL drivers from texting, or using a 
handheld cell phone while driving unless 
it is a hands-free device.  The law only 
allows a driver to use a cell phone to 
make emergency calls to law enforcement, 
a medical provider, the fire department, or 
other emergency services agencies.  The 
fine for a first time texting or cell phone 
violation will cost a minimum of $162.    
The fine amount increases with each 
subsequent violation.

Distracted driving can take many forms, 
but cell phones are the number one 
distraction.  Distracted driving can lead to 
collisions, injuries, and death, in addition 
to citations for traffic violations.  Drivers 
are 23 times more likely to be involved in 
a collision if they text while driving.  
The best advice is to focus on your driving 
and the road ahead.   

Distracted driving takes a person’s eyes 
off the road, hands off the steering wheel, 
and mind off of driving. Most collisions 
occur in less than three seconds, based on 
perception and reaction time.  It takes the 
average person 4.6 seconds to read or 
send a text message.  Just three seconds 
of texting while driving at 65 mph is 
equal to driving 100 yards, or the length 
of a football field, blindfolded. 

Distracted Driving is Distracted Driving is 
not wornot worth:th:

• Losing a family member or loved one.
• Getting into a collision.
• Increased insurance rates.
• Getting a citation.

Distracted driving is an umbrella term 
that covers many behaviors.  Cell phone 
use and texting while driving are the 
most common. However, anything from 
drinking coffee to managing children can 
take your mind and eyes off the road at 
critical times.



 
Texting and driving increases a driver’s 
risk of getting into a collision.  A cell 
phone conversation while driving is also 
dangerous.  Talking on hands-free or 
handheld cell phones requires the brain 
to multitask.  This is a process the brain 
cannot do safely while driving.  Not 
only does cell phone use impair driving 
performance, it also weakens the brain’s 
ability to recognize driving cues and 
hazards. 

The primary responsibility of a driver is to 
operate a motor vehicle safely.  The task 
of driving requires full attention and focus.  
Drivers should resist engaging in any 
activity that takes their eyes and attention 
off the road.

 

The use of a 
cell phone while 

driving increases 
your chances of 
being involved 

in a collision 
by  400%.

The California Highway Patrol encourages 
all drivers to put their cell phones away 
while driving.  Keeping a cell phone out 
of reach while you are on the road is a 
great way to start.  Other tips include:  
do not eat or drink while driving, do not  
program your electronic devices while 
driving, pull over and stop to read maps, 
and refrain from personal grooming, 
reading, or watching videos.  If something 
falls to the floor, pull over to a safe location 
before trying to retrieve it.  By eliminating 
distractions, your risk of being involved in 
a collision decreases significantly.   

FOR MORE 
INFORMATION GO TO:

www.chp.ca.gov
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