The Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE) program was developed by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) with input from the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) Technical Advisory Panel (TAP) and the Virginia Association of Chiefs of Police. ARIDE was created to address the gap in training between the Standardized Field Sobriety Testing (SFST) and the Drug Evaluation and Classification (DEC) Program.
ARIDE is intended to bridge the gap between these two programs by providing officers with general knowledge related to drug impairment and by promoting the use of DREs in states that have the DEC Program. One of the more significant aspects of ARIDE is its review and required student demonstration of the SFST proficiency requirements.
This course will train law enforcement officers to observe, identify, and articulate the signs of impairment related to drugs, alcohol or a combination of both, in order to reduce the number of impaired drivers and impaired driving related traffic collisions. This course will train other criminal justice professionals (prosecutors, toxicologists, etc.) to understand the signs of impairment related to drugs, alcohol, or a combination of both and enable them to effectively work with law enforcement in order to reduce the number of impaired drivers and impaired driving related traffic collisions.
This course is a 16 hour classroom course which includes instruction on:
In order to qualify for this course, prospective students must have successfully completed a minimum of 16 hours of a California Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) certified SFST course consisting of IACP/NHTSA approved SFST instruction. Personnel should have experience using the SFSTs in order to understand and complete the course. Additionally, in order to be considered for training in the ARIDE program, a person must be employed under direct contact of a criminal justice agency or institution involved in providing training services to law enforcement agencies.
In order to register for this course, students are required to electronically submit a Training Request (PDF) form as well as a copy of their SFST certificates to the course coordinator. An email with a name and POST ID number will not suffice to reserve a roster spot.
There is no registration fee to attend this course. If a facility use fee is charged by the hosting agency, it will be noted in the expanded course description. This course is funded through the California Office of Traffic Safety DRE Grant. Travel reimbursement is not available for this course.
If your agency is interested in hosting this course at your training facility, please contact the ARIDE State Coordinator, Officer Travis Herbert, at (916) 843-4359.