DRE Instructor

Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) Instructor Course

Background:

California’s Drug Evaluation and Classification Program (DECP) is an effective means of identifying and prosecuting drug impaired drivers. Drug Recognition Experts (DRE) have gained acceptance and approval throughout the world due to their accuracy and effectiveness.


The California Highway Patrol (CHP) has been designated as the statewide DECP coordinator for the State of California. The resources coordinated by the CHP on a statewide basis assists the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration in the expansion of the DECP to other states as well as within California by providing training in drug detection to law enforcement personnel.


California’s Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) program leads the country with the largest number of certified DREs. Much of this success can be attributed to the quality and guidance given by California DRE Instructors during the classroom instruction and field certification processes. Because of the highly technical nature of the functions performed by the DRE, only persons experienced in the techniques of drug influence evaluations should become instructors in the DRE program.


DRE Instructors are tasked with instructing for all California agencies, participating in statewide training events, and maintaining a profound knowledge of DRE protocol and current drug trends. Accomplishing this task requires tremendous support and flexibility from the DRE Instructor’s agency.

Course Description:

This course is a 40 hour classroom course which includes instruction on:

  • Concepts of Adult Learning and Teaching

  • DECP Curriculum

  • Teaching Preparation Techniques

  • Basic Public Speaking

  • Effective Classroom Presentations

  • Managing a Live Alcohol Workshop

Students will be required to give one 20 minute and one 40 minute presentation during the classroom course. Once the classroom course is finished, the students will be required to teach a two hour block at a DECP class. This must be completed within 90 days of the completion of the classroom course.

Pre-requisites:

1.  Candidate must have at least TWO years experience as a DRE, must be active in the program, and must be in good standing.

2.  Candidate must have updated the National Tracking System.

Registration:

For consideration, candidates must submit an application(PDF), a copy of their curriculum vitae(PDF), rolling log and a written statement summarizing their activity in the DRE program and of how they will use this training to benefit their agency and California’s DECP to DRE@chp.ca.gov.

Fees & Costs:

There is no registration fee to attend this course. If a facility use fee is charged by the hosting agency, it will be noted in the expanded course description. This course is funded through the California Office of Traffic Safety DRE Grant.

Hosting:

If your agency is interested in hosting this course at your training facility, please contact the DRE Instructor Program Coordinator, Officer Eric Stayer, at (916) 843-4363.

 

 

***CLASS IS FULL***DRE Instructor Class - Newport Beach ***CLASS IS FULL***DRE Instructor Class - Newport Beach 12/7/2020 4:00:00 PM12/12/2020 1:00:00 AMTo register for this class please complete the Training Request form and DRE instructor application and return to the Impaired Driving Section at dre@chp.ca.gov. For questions please call (916) 843-4360.Marina Park Recreational Building - 1600 West Balboa Blvd., Newport Beach, CA 92663<p><a href="/ImpairedDrivingSite/Documents/Training%20Request%20066%20Rev%202-18.pdf" target="_blank">​​​Training Request Form </a><br><a href="/ImpairedDrivingSite/Documents/DRE%20Instructor%20Application.pdf" target="_blank">DRE Instructor Application </a><br>Max Class Size: 8 <br>Fee: No <br>Wet Lab: No <br>Pre-Requisites: <br>1. Active/Current DRE with 2+ years<br>2. Updated NHTSA rolling log<br>3. Updated Curriculum Vitae to dre@chp.ca.gov<br>4. DRE Instructor Application with 2 Recommendations<br>POST CCN: 1270-20291-20-002</p>
***CLASS IS FULL*** DRE Instructor Class - Riverside ***CLASS IS FULL*** DRE Instructor Class - Riverside 3/1/2021 4:00:00 PM3/6/2021 1:00:00 AMTo register for this class please complete the Training Request form and DRE instructor application and return to the Impaired Driving Section at dre@chp.ca.gov. For questions please call (916) 843-4360.Riverside Police Department - 10540 Magnolia Avenue, Riverside, CA 92505<p><a href="/ImpairedDrivingSite/Documents/Training%20Request%20066%20Rev%202-18.pdf" target="_blank">​</a>***CLASS IS FULL***</p><p>Training Request Form </p><p><a href="/ImpairedDrivingSite/Documents/DRE%20Instructor%20Application.pdf" target="_blank">DRE Instructor Application </a></p><p>Max Class Size: 8 </p><p>Fee: No </p><p>Wet Lab: No </p><p><br>Pre-Requisites:<br>1. Active/Current DRE with 2+ years<br>2. Updated NHTSA rolling log<br>3. Updated Curriculum Vitae to dre@chp.ca.gov<br>4. DRE Instructor Application with 2 Recommendations</p><p><br>POST CCN: 1270-22171-20-003</p>
DRE Instructor Class - FolsomDRE Instructor Class - Folsom5/3/2021 3:00:00 PM5/8/2021 12:00:00 AMTo register for this class please complete the Training Request form and DRE instructor application and return to the Impaired Driving Section at dre@chp.ca.gov. For questions please call (916) 843-4360.Folsom PD, 46 Natoma Street, Folsom, CA 95630<p>​​<a href="/ImpairedDrivingSite/Documents/Training%20Request%20066%20Rev%202-18.pdf" target="_blank">Training Request Form </a><br>DRE Instructor Application <br>Max Class Size: 8 <br>Fee: No <br>Wet Lab: No <br>Pre-Requisites: <br>1. Active/Current DRE with 2+ years<br>2. Updated NHTSA rolling log<br>3. Updated Curriculum Vitae to dre@chp.ca.gov<br>4. DRE Instructor Application with 2 Recommendations</p><p>POST CCN: 1270-20271-20-004</p>

 

Supporting Page
Back to Top