FAQ

 

 

Am I or is my company subject to the BIT program requirements? Am I or is my company subject to the BIT program requirements? <p>​If you (or your company) is the registered owner of any of the following types of vehicles, you are subject to the BIT program:</p><ul><li>​Any motortruck with three or more axles having a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 10,000 pounds.</li><li>All truck tractors</li><li>Trailers or semitrailers used in combination with the vehicles listed above</li><li>Any truck, or combination of a truck and another vehicle, transporting hazardous materials requiring placards, a hazardous materials transportation license, or hazardous waste transporter registration, including pickups</li><li>Any motortruck with a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 10,000 pounds (excluding pickup trucks), while towing any trailer or semitrailer that results in a combination length over 40 feet (excluding trailer coaches, camp trailers, and utility trailers)</li></ul>
Are Areas required to honor inspections by other CHP Areas?Are Areas required to honor inspections by other CHP Areas?<p>​​No. All tow trucks shall be inspected by the Area in which they are designated to provide service. </p>
Are cable chains allowed in California? Are cable chains allowed in California? <p>​The California Department of Transportation (CalTrans) does accept the use of cable chains in lieu of traditional tire chains, however when using cable chains they are required to be installed on four drive tires similar to the requirements for Maximum chains. Additionally, the cable chains must have the larger one-half inch cross link cables designed for heavier vehicles.</p>
Are pickup trucks required to stop at CHP weigh stations?Are pickup trucks required to stop at CHP weigh stations?<p>​​Section 2813 of the California Vehicle Code (CVC) requires every driver of a commercial vehicle to stop and submit the vehicle for an inspection at any location where members of the CHP are conducting inspections and where signs are displayed requiring them to stop. Pickup trucks are included in this requirement, unless a sign specifically states “no pickups.”</p><p>Section 471 CVC defines a pickup truck as a motor truck with a manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight rating of less than 11,500 pounds, an unladen weight of less than 8,001 pounds, and that is equipped with an open box-type bed not exceeding 9 feet in length. A “pickup truck” does not include a motor vehicle—otherwise meeting the above definition—that is equipped with a bed-mounted storage compartment unit commonly called a “utility body.”</p>
Are rotation tow drivers required to attend tow driver training?Are rotation tow drivers required to attend tow driver training?<p>​​Yes. Rotation tow drivers are required to have completed a tow truck driver training program from a Tow Service Agreement Advisory Committee (TSAAC) approved training program within the last five (5) years. All drivers, whose training documentation is over five (5) years, shall submit current proof of training documentation only from a TSAAC-approved program. </p>
Are tow operators required to accept checks and/or bank cards?Are tow operators required to accept checks and/or bank cards?<p>​​No. Tow operators are not required to accept checks but are required by law to accept a valid bank card.</p>
At what age can my child ride in the front seat of my vehicle? At what age can my child ride in the front seat of my vehicle? <p>​California law requies all children 8 years of age or younger ride in the rear seat of a vehicle. There are special circumstances which provide exemption from the law. Your child may ride in the front seat if: </p><ul><li><p>Your vehicle has no rear seats. Rear seats are side-facing jump seats.</p></li><li><p>Child safety restraints must never be placed on side-facing vehicle seats. </p></li><li><p>The rear seats are rear-facing seats. </p></li><li><p>The child restraint system cannot be properly installed in the rear seat.</p></li><li><p>For example, your vehicle has lap belts only in the back seat, but there are lap and shoulder belts in the front seat. Your child is 5 and weighs 45 pounds and must ride in a booster seat. The booster seat must be used with a lap and shoulder belt; therefore your child may ride in the front seat. </p></li><li><p>Children under age 7 occupy all rear seats. </p></li><li><p>Medical reason (written by the pediatrician) requires that child not be restrained in the back seat. All children are safer in the back seat, ask another adult to ride with the child in the back. </p></li></ul><p>It is strongly recommended by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration that all children ride in the back seat of a vehicle until 13 years of age. </p>
At what age can my child ride in the front seat of my vehicle? At what age can my child ride in the front seat of my vehicle? <p>​California law requies all children 8 years of age or younger ride in the rear seat of a vehicle. There are special circumstances which provide exemption from the law. Your child may ride in the front seat if: <br>Your vehicle has no rear seats. Rear seats are side-facing jump seats.<br><br>Child safety restraints must never be placed on side-facing vehicle seats. <br><br>The rear seats are rear-facing seats. <br><br>The child restraint system cannot be properly installed in the rear seat.<br><br>For example, your vehicle has lap belts only in the back seat, but there are lap and shoulder belts in the front seat. Your child is 5 and weighs 45 pounds and must ride in a booster seat. The booster seat must be used with a lap and shoulder belt; therefore your child may ride in the front seat. <br><br>Children under age 7 occupy all rear seats. <br><br>Medical reason (written by the pediatrician) requires that child not be restrained in the back seat. All children are safer in the back seat, ask another adult to ride with the child in the back. <br><br>It is strongly recommended by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration that all children ride in the back seat of a vehicle until 13 years of age. </p>
CHP Cadet/Officer - Can an applicant take the POST written exam multiple times?CHP Cadet/Officer - Can an applicant take the POST written exam multiple times?<p>​​According to the Commission on Peace Officers Standards and Training (POST)--the organization that writes and grades the test--you can only take the written exam once every 30 days regardless of the agency you take it with. </p><p>The above rule can be accessed at: <a href="http://www.post.ca.gov/entry-level-test-battery.aspx">http://www.post.ca.gov/entry-level-test-battery.aspx </a></p>
CHP Cadet/Officer- After graduation, where will I be assigned to work and for how long? CHP Cadet/Officer- After graduation, where will I be assigned to work and for how long? <p>​​You will have the potential to work anywhere in the state provided that there is an opening at your desired location, but the majority of initial assignments are in the busier major metropolitan areas. Your initial assignment is for one year after which you are eligible to submit a transfer request.</p>
CHP Cadet/Officer- How often can I take the written test? CHP Cadet/Officer- How often can I take the written test? <p>​​The Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) will allow you to take a POST written exam once every 30 days. </p><p>If you attempted to take a POST written exam within 30 days of completing another exam, your new exam will not be graded by POST.</p>
CHP Cadet/Officer- I am currently in the military, and I still have 3 years left in my enlistment. When would be a good time for me to apply for the CHP? CHP Cadet/Officer- I am currently in the military, and I still have 3 years left in my enlistment. When would be a good time for me to apply for the CHP? <p>​You can apply for the CHP during any open application period. Once you have applied and have successfully completed the Physical Abilities and Written Tests, you can request to waive the rest of the application process until you are closer to your discharge date. Those who are serving in the military in active dury status are eligible to waive the remainder of the application process up to 8 years before having to reapply.</p>
CHP Cadet/Officer- If I am working as a Police Officer and I wish to apply, is any portion of the testing process waived? Will I still have to go through the academy? CHP Cadet/Officer- If I am working as a Police Officer and I wish to apply, is any portion of the testing process waived? Will I still have to go through the academy? <p>​​In order to join the CHP, you will still need to complete the entire hiring process. At this time, we do not waive any portion of the application process. All CHP Officers are required to go through the CHP Academy for cadet training. Unfortunately at this time, we do not accept laterals.</p>
CHP Cadet/Officer- When I graduate the academy and go to my field assignment, what shift will I work? Will I be required to work weekends and holidays? CHP Cadet/Officer- When I graduate the academy and go to my field assignment, what shift will I work? Will I be required to work weekends and holidays? <p>​The shift you work will be determined by needs of the department and your departmental seniority. There are a variety of shifts available throughout the state. You can potentially work an 8 hour work shifts, 10 hour work shifts, or 12 hour work shifts. The CHP operates 24 hours, 7 days per week, 365 days per year so you may be required to work weekends and holidays.</p>
CHP Cadet/Officer- Where is the CHP Academy located? How long is the training? Am I required to live there? CHP Cadet/Officer- Where is the CHP Academy located? How long is the training? Am I required to live there? <p>​​The CHP Academy is located in West Sacramento, California. The Cadet training program lasts for 27 weeks (approximately 6 months). While going through Cadet training, all Cadets are required to live at the academy Monday- Friday. Cadets are allowed to leave the academy after the training day has been completed every Friday and are not required to return until Sunday night. LIberty is also granted on Wednesday nights from 5pm- 11pm.</p>
Cadet/Officer - Can I take the cadet/officer tests in a location other than my home area?Cadet/Officer - Can I take the cadet/officer tests in a location other than my home area?<p>​​You may specify any region to take the written test and will be scheduled accordingly. Be prepared to test in the same geographical location for the physical ability test and written test. If you choose to test in an area other than the one you live in, and you are successful at the written portion, your background will take much longer than if you tested in your home division. </p>
Cadet/Officer - Does the CHP accept T-scores from other agencies?Cadet/Officer - Does the CHP accept T-scores from other agencies?<p>T-scores from other agencies are no longer accepted. </p>
Cadet/Officer - How are the first cadet/officer field assignments made?Cadet/Officer - How are the first cadet/officer field assignments made?<p>​During the period between weeks 19 and 21 prior to graduation, cadets receive a "Dream Sheet"; a list of those CHP Area offices that have openings (not all offices have openings) for new officers. Cadets list their choices of locations by order of personal preference. The lists are then returned to headquarters for processing. The following information shows how the cadet's first duty assignment is determined/prioritized:</p><ol dir="ltr"><li><p>The needs of the department </p></li><li><p>Hardship. The hardship must have occurred after appointment to the academy.</p></li><li><p>Home ownership. This is for cadets who own their home and live within 60 minutes of the office they are trying to get. A notarized photocopy of the first page of the trust deed as proof of home ownership must be provided. </p></li><li><p>Social Security number (based on the last four digits of the social security number in descending order--9999 has priority over 0000). Most cadet assignments are determined in this manner. For example, if the last four of your SSN# ends in 9999, you would more than likely get your first pick. </p></li></ol><p>There are no guarantees that you will be assigned to a location in the city nearest your residence or family members. </p><p>Most of the department's vacancies are in metropolitan areas such as Los Angeles, the San Francisco Bay area, and the San Joaquin valley, or the desert areas. Nearly all officers begin their careers in one of those locations. After one year on the job, you may transfer to another area.</p>
Cadet/Officer - How long does the application process take? Cadet/Officer - How long does the application process take? <p>​​In the past the entire application process took one to two years, however changes have been made to lessen that time. Expect the entire hiring process, from the date of your written test to academy appointment, to last approximately 6-12 months. This is the general timeline and individual cases may vary considerably. State budget issues may also have an impact on timelines. </p>
Cadet/Officer - I recently got a speeding ticket. Will I be disqualified from the cadet application process?Cadet/Officer - I recently got a speeding ticket. Will I be disqualified from the cadet application process?<p>​All violations are considered with regard to severity, recency, and frequency.</p>

 

Rollup Page