(750) Santa Maria

Santa Maria Area Office

Phone:

(805) 349-8728

Address:

1710 North Carlotti Drive
Santa Maria , CA 93454-1505

Hours:

Monday:
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday:
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday:
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday:
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday:
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday:
Closed
Sunday:
Closed

Overview


Located in northern Santa Barbara County, the Santa Maria Area office is responsible for approximately 30 miles of US-101, 78 miles of State Route 166, 17 miles of State Route 135, 20 miles of State Route 1, and 12 miles of State Route 33.  The overall boundaries
encompass over 1200 square miles, most of which is unincorporated.  Santa Maria and Guadalupe are the only incorporated cities within the Area boundaries.  Santa Maria encompasses 22 square miles, while Guadalupe encompasses approximately five square miles.  The area is rural, with many agriculture and ranch operations.  Santa Maria is located in wine country, midway between Los Angeles and San Francisco.  Therefore, many of the motorists passing through the area are tourists, both domestic and foreign.  The Santa Maria Valley has a population of approximately 150,000 residents.  The population in these areas vary greatly due to the influx of migrant farm workers during the harvest times from spring through late summer.  The Santa Maria area is known to be the most affordable area on the central coast; therefore it has become the most populated community in Santa Barbara County.  A large majority of Santa Maria’s working public commute out of the area to adjacent communities. 

The Santa Maria Area Office sworn personnel consists of 17 patrol officers, three special duty officers, three patrol sergeants, and one
lieutenant commander.  We offer several traffic safety programs such as Start Smart, Age Well Drive Smart, Every 15 Minutes, Impact Teen Drivers, and child safety seat installations to serve and educate our community.  Contact the Santa Maria Area Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. for more information or click on the Programs & Services above to learn more.    Thank you for taking the time to learn about the California Highway Patrol Santa Maria Area.

Office Map

 

 

At what age can my child ride in the front seat of my vehicle? At what age can my child ride in the front seat of my vehicle? <p>​California law requies all children 8 years of age or younger ride in the rear seat of a vehicle. There are special circumstances which provide exemption from the law. Your child may ride in the front seat if: </p><ul><li><p>Your vehicle has no rear seats. Rear seats are side-facing jump seats.</p></li><li><p>Child safety restraints must never be placed on side-facing vehicle seats. </p></li><li><p>The rear seats are rear-facing seats. </p></li><li><p>The child restraint system cannot be properly installed in the rear seat.</p></li><li><p>For example, your vehicle has lap belts only in the back seat, but there are lap and shoulder belts in the front seat. Your child is 5 and weighs 45 pounds and must ride in a booster seat. The booster seat must be used with a lap and shoulder belt; therefore your child may ride in the front seat. </p></li><li><p>Children under age 7 occupy all rear seats. </p></li><li><p>Medical reason (written by the pediatrician) requires that child not be restrained in the back seat. All children are safer in the back seat, ask another adult to ride with the child in the back. </p></li></ul><p>It is strongly recommended by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration that all children ride in the back seat of a vehicle until 13 years of age. </p>
How do I apply to become a CHP Officer? How do I apply to become a CHP Officer? <p>​Visit our <a href="/_layouts/15/FIXUPREDIRECT.ASPX?WebId=76bdb9c2-3652-4bd5-b330-1eb3d8127efd&TermSetId=60be2733-c40e-4f75-96cc-b67d4d71e190&TermId=bf286d8c-307c-4d58-bab3-32afee989d09">"Become a CHP Officer" page </a>for more information and to submit your application online!</p>
How do I become a CHP Public Safety Dispatcher? How do I become a CHP Public Safety Dispatcher? <p>​​Visit our<a href="/_layouts/15/FIXUPREDIRECT.ASPX?WebId=76bdb9c2-3652-4bd5-b330-1eb3d8127efd&TermSetId=60be2733-c40e-4f75-96cc-b67d4d71e190&TermId=7a6463b6-4bfd-46ab-a9b0-bcef991f11d7"> "Become a Public Safety Dispatcher" page </a>for more information!</p>
How do I get help with a Child Safety Seat?How do I get help with a Child Safety Seat?<p>​You can contact <a href="/_layouts/15/FIXUPREDIRECT.ASPX?WebId=76bdb9c2-3652-4bd5-b330-1eb3d8127efd&TermSetId=60be2733-c40e-4f75-96cc-b67d4d71e190&TermId=ba6245fa-99af-41be-867f-f9f16cb25740">your nearest CHP Area Office</a>, and schedule an appointment for assistance.  </p>
My car was towed. How do I get it released? My car was towed. How do I get it released? <p>​While there are many reasons that a vehicle may be towed by the CHP, all will fall into one of two categories: "<strong>Stored</strong>" or "<strong>Impounded</strong>": </p><p><br><strong>Stored Vehicles </strong></p><p dir="ltr" style="text-align:left;">Vehicles stored by the CHP can be retrieved directly from the tow company by the registered owner or his/her agent. Some examples of "stored" vehicles include:</p><ul dir="ltr" style="text-align:left;"><li>Vehicle involved in a traffic collision, and cannot be driven from the scene.</li><li>Vehicle left parked on a freeway in excess of four hours.</li><li>Vehicle left parked blocking a lane or creating a traffic hazard.</li></ul><p><br><strong>Impounded Vehicles</strong><br>Vehicles impounded by the CHP require a release from the office that caused it to be impounded. Tow companies will not release the vehicle unless they are directed to by the CHP. Common examples of "impounded" vehicles include:</p><ul><li>Vehicles towed because the driver did not have a valid Driver License.</li><li>Vehicles towed as part of an investigation where further examination is necessary.</li><li>Vehicles without valid paid registration.</li></ul><p><br>If you are unsure of why your vehicle was towed or where it was towed to, please contact the office that caused your vehicle to be towed for more information.</p>
Should my child be seated "rear facing" or "front facing"? Should my child be seated "rear facing" or "front facing"? <p><strong>​​Current law requires children to be seated in a "rear facing" child passenger restraint system until age 1. The CHP recommends keeping your child rear-facing for as long as possible up to the upper weight limit of your child's car seat.</strong><br> Rear-facing seats are the safest kind of restraint for young children. The vast majority of collisions are frontal (meaning the front of the car strikes something else). Occupants within the vehicle are traveling at the same speed of the car, and in the collision, the seat belt is the primary method of slowing the body to a stop. A rear-facing car seat allows this stopping force to be distributed all along the child's body, as opposed to at small points where the seat belt would hold the child.<br> When in doubt, please come by any of our CHP offices to schedule a free car seat inspection.</p>

 

Location Page